Getting Back Into The Kitchen

I admit, I’ve been pretty lazy when it comes to cooking. For the pass 2 months I haven’t been all that excited about food. Its all about taming my hunger and getting food pronto in my belly. I hardly took photos of my food at home (took lots in Australia though!) and hardly turned on the stove. I made super easy eats and nothing blog worthy.

For awhile I even thought of abandoning this blog as my joy of blogging for food just wasn’t really there.  But oh, am I glad I didn’t abandon it. I just needed some time off (thank God for holiday in Aus!) of the computer and time for me to get back into listening to what my body wants and feeling inspired to make it.

That inspiration finally hit me recently! Thanks to 0rganic grocery shopping in Australia. I stocked up on tons of goodies that I couldn’t wait to try when I got back.

Hello Chia seeds! How I’ve missed you! I went months without these little babies, substituting  flaxseeds instead. Nutrient wise, they are very similar, but chiaseeds are little more special. Let me show you why.

Do you like tapioca? thick puddings? If you do, you’ll like this. Chia seeds are not only super nutritious, but also do a funny thing of absorbing liquid really well and doubling in size! Mix Chia seeds in water, let it sit on the counter for 10 – 20 mins and you’ll get a pudding like texture. It’s a great way to thicken things up!

Simple Chia Pudding

Makes 1 serving.

 

2 Tbsp chia seeds

1/2 cup non dairy milk of choice (add more if you like a soupier pudding)

dash of cinnamon

a drop of vanilla extract

Optional: sweetener of choice. (I didn’t add any)

1/2 banana (sliced into the pudding in the morning)

 

The photo break down.

In a medium size bowl, add 2 tbsp of Chia seeds.

Followed by 1/2 cup of non dairy milk. I only had soy milk on hand, but I would have preferred rice milk.

Add cinnamon, vanilla extract, and any other things you can think of that will taste delicious in it! The skies the limit with this pudding and really anything taste good! Chia seeds don’t have any flavor, so you really have to add whatever flavor you feel like having. Chocolate, dried fruit, nuts, coconut butter, peanut butter etc. Even savory puddings are possible. Next time I’ll get a more creative, but I kept it real simple this time.

Whisk away for a good minute or 2. Then let the bowl sit on your kitchen counter for at least 10 mins. I got distracted with something else and let it sit for 20 mins.

When you come back, you’ll notice the chia seeds expanded significantly and the milk is a bit more pudding like. Next step is to cover it and put it in the fridge over night. You could let it sit on the counter for however long or short you want. But if you want it thick then the best results are seen overnight.

The next morning I couldn’t wait to try out my pudding! I got all fancy and poured it into a purty glass cup, mixed in 1/2 banana, and drizzled some maple syrup on top. Sorry, I know it doesn’t look super appealing, but there’s really not much I can do there. Chia seeds aren’t all that attractive, but it was a delicious eat!

See how much it thickened! Yum pudding for breakfast! Chia seeds are super high in fiber and omega 3s. Perfect for constipation prone pregnant women. (Sorry for my bluntness. Bowl movements are VERY important for myself as a runner, pregnant or not. I’m sure the runners out there will back me up on this)

mmm…yum! I can’t wait to make this again with different add ins!

Guess what I bought recently!? Apparently, no cook or kitchen is serious unless it has one of these awesome things.

Weighing is apparently far more accurate a measurement then cups and spoons. There are some complicated recipes I really want to try, so this thing should come in handy.

I had a lot of fun figuring out how to use the 2 buttons. User friendly! Perfect for me!

While I’m at it. Why not measure out my chia crackers. Another delicious buy in Australia! I read the package and it said 1 portion is 50 grams. WHAT?! 50 grams is only an inch of the cracker!

No worries, I soon realized that it read 5.0 grams. Very different from 50 grams! ha, a bit of an air head moment there. I happily piled on a few more crackers and enjoyed myself. These crackers were GOOD! I must try to reinvent them!

I’m quite fascinated with this cooking scale now. Just for fun, I’m going to start weighting out the 1 portion that’s indicated on packages. It’ll be very education I think to realize how many portions I actually really am eating.

More yummy eats tomorrow! Time to make dinner 🙂

One thought on “Getting Back Into The Kitchen

  1. lil says:

    ooo that chia seed pudding is really clever! I put them in yogurt sometimes, but letting it sit to become pudding is the next stop for sure! Nice pictures and I see really awesome measuring utensils..how can you even consider not blogging anymore!! LOL Blasphemy!

Leave a Reply

