Nourishing My Body

I found my favorite cookie! At least for the time being.  Its funny how taste buds change so much. Lately I’ve been in the mood for cookies, but I didn’t want any nuts, dried fruit or chocolate etc in it. Usually I would but yesterday I just wanted a really simple cookie with the right amount of chew. Something between a hard and a soft cookie.

Yay, I found it! Thanks to Chocolate Covered Katie for her Vegan Oatmeal Cookies

They turned out nice and soft on the inside and the oatmeal gave it just the right amount of crunch on the outside! Yum yum! The recipe was flawless!  Since the recipe also made quite a large batch I packaged a few to present to my Japanese teacher. Fingers crossed that she likes it too.

In between cookies, I’ve had some fabulous eats yesterday. I threw together a soup with just about every vegetable I had in the fridge and seasoned with a variety of spices and herbs. I tend to go over board and throw a little too much in. But the dash of chill powder made it quite delicious!

Tomato, beet, carrot, avocado, spinach, and lemon juice,. I LOVE how the Vita-mix purees everything smooth! I didn’t have to cook to soften a single thing! My body definitely functions better on raw food!  Although I doused it in olive oil the change of color from my usual green was most appreciated.

Dinner last night was red quinoa (my fav) mixed with loads of veggies and tofu. And a side of tomato and cucumber salad.  The quinoa made lots of left overs which I’ll be enjoying throughout the week.

This morning I woke up at the crack of dawn to make hubby a smoothie for his breakfast. Does that say love or what? Shhhh, don’t tell him I went back to bed after he went to work. Pregnant lady needs her beauty sleep after all.

An orange, frozen blueberries and frozen banana. I did not taste it, but hubby emailed me from work thanking me for the delicious breakfast that in his words “made me more regular than usual” 🙂 That’s a good thing in my book.

What has everyone else been eating? I’m curious! Let me know!

4 thoughts on “Nourishing My Body

  1. lil says:

    hahaha, made him regular..that must be good! LOL. Love your soup, sounds really yummy, only the fact that all your teeth are probably going to fall out from all these smoothies/soups and no use! LOL
    I guess your awesome oatmeal cookies will save you in that department :D. they look really yum.

  2. Nina says:

    lol Lils.
    being regular is always good. only recently have i seen any change in that department for myself…hehe, in the good way.
    That sounds like a yummy smoothie you made for Moto.
    as far as what i’ve been eating, nothing too exciting, but incredibly delicious coconut egg rolls, dipped in milk. 😀

  3. haha I thought about my teeth…especially after getting a sore jaw from eating cashews the other day. But people go on juice fasts for days and their teeth don’t fall out so I figure I’m ok. I still eat solids, but lately I’ve been enjoying at least 2 liquid meals per day. Its easier to get a variety in without all the chew and prep work to make it enjoyable to eat 🙂
    Coconut egg rolls? Whats that?

  4. Liene says:

    All the food looks great! The soup..yummm!

Leave a Reply

