Keeping Busy

Thank God for friends and hubby who keep me sane!

Ever since getting preg my moods have been quite up and down. I have good days and bad days. 2 days ago I was definitely in the down.  On the down days, simple things like taking a shower feels like a huge task much too large for me to manage. Usually, it just comes down to being tired and a couple of hours of extra sleep, loads of tears, and talking it out with someone helps bring me around.

A couple of things spoke to me while talking to Jan and Motozo that day. Jan, 6 months pregnant and dealing with everything beautifully suggested I don’t dwell on the very fact of being pregnant as much. Sure its hard to forget completely, but she told me she’s enjoying this time now that she’s “free”, because God knows she’ll be busy busy once the baby comes along.

Here I am wishing the pregnancy would fly by a million times faster, but what I should be doing is enjoying these last few months of not being a mother. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think motherhood is to be dreaded, but it is certainly life changing, and once the child is born I will ALWAYS be a mother. So I have 5 more months before I have that title and I decided I am going to make a bit more of effort to enjoy it.  You probably won’t find me enjoying it by rubbing my belly and buying baby clothes, but rather doing the things I do regularly and consciously being thankfully for the ability to do those things with ease. Things like running, taking a yoga classes, reading a book etc will most likely not be as high priority once the baby arrives. Running and doing yoga whenever I want will simply not be an option any more, so now is the time to take advantage of the ability to do those activities I almost take for granted.

The thing my husband said was to “Make the most of the situation.” I still am not quite sure how to actually apply that to my daily life, but I suppose in my mind that means to enjoy what I can enjoy about pregnancy and focus on positive thoughts. Sounds good to me.

In the attempt to try Jan’s and Moto’s “advice” I started off my day yesterday with a huge list of things I want/need to do. The goal was to keep myself as busy as possible so I’ll have less time to analysis my emotions about being pregnant.

First things first, coffee in a cute mug I found in the back of my cupboard. I think I got it from Nina?  It put a smile on my face and I swear the coffee tasted better! That reminded me I’ve been wanting to buy a few new glass cups and bowls.

After my Thursday morning yoga class. I “rewarded” myself by having a macrobiotic lunch (sadly no photo to show) and each bite was savored slowly! I’m going to sound horrible, but I was savoring how I can take as long as I want to eat….come motherhood I’m expecting I’ll probably need to eat fast and carry the baby at the same time.

Next was a trip to the tax office. Not fun, but necessary.

After I filed my taxes I could finally allow myself to do the “fun” chores. Nothing like getting new glass cups, bowls, wooden spoons to make me happy! ha.

We always need more bowls and cups because I’m always breaking things with my clumsiness.  I was so happy to find huge glass cups because I’ve been wanting a glass large enough to hold my smoothies. I typically make 3 cups of smoothies, (yes, I drink them all) but we don’t have a glass large enough to hold everything.

FINALLY one that fits 3 cups worth! Extra dark smoothie today because of the frozen blueberries. And spirulina makes all the smoothies look extra dark green.

The rest of the day was spent with home improvements like replacing our many dead light bulbs (10!!!) etc. At the end of the day I felt accomplished and energized!

Keeping busy certainly seemed to help keep my mind occupied and helped me “forget” the unpleasantness of being pregnant.

I hope this keeps me out of the “down” for a while anyway.

Its Friday! I have something to look forward to with sister Sherry staying over for the weekend. LOVELY!

Have a great weekend everyone.

5 thoughts on “Keeping Busy

  1. lil says:

    yay for the free days. Definitely enjoy the extra time you have to yourself while you can! One thing you can be extremely happy about – you have family next to you! I would LOVE to have the ability for sheba to rock up at my house for the weekend! As they say, happiness is a state of mind.

  2. randomgoods says:

    yea really. I would LOVE to have family nearby.
    Sounds like something I did recently. I was going a bit crazy, and feeling under pressure, so I said ‘hold it a tic, just cancel what you HAVE TO OMG DO RIGHT NOW!!!(what I thought I had to do), and I just cleaned the house.
    Nothing like repetitive work to cheer you up :P.
    -on to comment about blog.
    Those cups and bowls look lovely!! I can totally see those tall glasses showcasing a lot more smoothies! yum yum

  3. I forgot to mention that I also was busy that day buying presents for the 3 march birthdays in our family. Lilia, I sent off your pressy today. I hope it arrives before you leave for Melb.
    Yeah, it def is nice to have family near by.

    Happiness as a state of mind….I do believe that, but I also do believe pregnancy hormones are real and really do effect a women.

  4. Jan says:

    Way to go Meg! I’m so proud of you! Just remember that you will have some down days still. Just don’t give up. Today I was having a “down day” but after reading your post it made me think positively again! Now I’m ready to make a nice dinner for my husband! 🙂 Thanks for the return!

  5. Hana says:

    Hang in there Meg. I can understand what you must be going through especially as you’re used to being light and running around all the time. “Make the most of it” is good advice but you’re allowed to be human once in a while! Love your new coffee cup by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

