Chocolate and Veggies

On Sunday morning I left Sherry alone in the house for a couple of hours while I went out for my run. I luckily bumped into a Namban member in the park and we did a few laps together. It’s always lovely to bump into runners especially if they don’t mind going as slow as I’m going. My running has noticeably slowed down recently. I sometimes get out of breath just walking, so imagine how quick my heart rate goes up while running. Its kind of nice to just take it easy and I’m focusing on how long I run now rather than the distance. If I get at least a 50 – 60min run in I consider that good enough. I’m happy that I can still continue with my usual 4-5 days of running along with a couple of days of strength training, Pilates, and yoga.

When I got back I had to make Sherry taste my beloved green smoothie πŸ™‚ I threw in extra fruits and didn’t put in my healthy powders, because I know some of those flavors can be a little overwhelming the first time.

This was her first time to drink anything green so of course she had many “ew” comments, but she drank everything saying it was yummy. πŸ™‚

We didn’t have much planned for the day other than do some baking for Sherry to bring back to family, so I let her pick out a recipe and of course she choose CHOCOLATE hehe.Β  She decided on Brownie Bites . I had everything but chocolate chips, so we attempted to make our own.Β  Very easy! Coconut Oil, Cocoa, Agave Necter, and Vanilla extract. Mix mix and spread out on a non stick sheet.

Place in the freezer to harden for 30mins and out came this massive sheet of vegan chocolate! We realized we made way too much, but all is good. I have a tupperware full of left over chocolate now πŸ™‚

YAY! Chocolate chips! We were quite pleased with ourselves, but unfortunately they just melted in the baking process and didn’t resemble chocolate chips, but rather blobs of smooth chocolate, ha. We knew none of the siblings (and dad especially) would complain though.

Again, I gave the orders and Sherry did all the hard work. I let her lick the bowl and eat some left over chocolate though.

The brownie bites look nothing like the original recipe we followed. For some reason our batter was more moist and they spread into cookies while baking. Oh, well…..brownie cookies then.

Major dark chocolate cookies sure to make everyone happy at home.

Since it was such a beautiful day I insisted we go out for a bit. I wanted to look at a few kitchen ware at Tokyu Hands so we walked down to Shibuya. We popped in and out of stores and I found a few large shirts for my expanding belly.

At Tokyu Hands Sherry helped me decide on a salad spinner and a spiralizer.

This spiralizer I’ve had on my mind for months now! It’s a staple in a raw foodies’ kitchen since it can spiralize vegetables to resemble noodles! I finally decided I wanted it badly enough and I was not disappointed when I tried it out as soon as we got back.

The carrots were a little tricky, so I was glad I had Sherry’s help as the hardness of the carrot made it hard to spiralize without 4 hands.Β  Carrot noodles! Look how long they get! Sorry, picking things up with my fingers.

Cucumbers were easier to spiralize. Yay, cucumber noodles! Oh, man I can’t wait to try zucchini etc!

We both were starving at this point so I threw together a salad with whatever I had on hand. Carrot/cucumber noodles, arugula, tomato, avocado, chickpeas, and olives. For the dressing I made a simple dressing with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, mustard, and maple syrup.

Sherry told me earlier how she doesn’t like salads, so I was determined to make an exciting salad that she’ll enjoy.Β  She ate an entire plate full saying it was fun and delicious to eat vegetables this way. πŸ™‚ See, who said salads are boring!

Eventually it was time for her to go home.Β  We packed up the cookies, birthday presents for mom & Chris, and presents Lil and Nina gave me ages ago to give to her. Sorry Lil and Nin, I told you it’ll take me awhile to get those presents to her.

It was so much fun having her over and next time we definitely have to have Jenny and Serena over too! I can’t wait to hear how everyone thought of the chocolate cookies.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate and Veggies

  1. Nina says:

    whee! Glad the presents made it, I was actually expecting them to make it home later…lol….sorry Meg….so it’s all good.
    OH FUNNN!!! Omg the spiralizer looks sooo completely fun! Having one of those must be sooo fun! Turning everything noodle-y.I am jealous nao.

  2. lil says:

    omg the spiralizer looks awesome!! Shame its difficult for carrots but I can totally see you making zuchini noodles!! seems so fun for kids too to make them eat veggies!!
    Remember what we were talking about here pegs? Well the last picture confirms it. COMPLETELY. omg

    yum, you can never ever go wrong with chocolate bits.

  3. Brownie Bites!? Really? I am salivating at my desk.

    Must make those… SOON.

  4. sherry says:

    Yay! finally able to comment! for some reason i cant see your blog on my comp so im on dads. Gosh that salad was the best, i want avokado in our salad now!

Leave a Reply

