Leaving Japan (temporarily)

Hello everyone,

I hope this finds you all well. Thank you so much for the kinds wishes in the last blog post.

It was pretty stressful earlier this week, but I’ve been able to relax a little more now after getting out of Tokyo.

On Tuesday I went down to Osaka to be on the safe side. With the all the talk of radiation possibly going down to Tokyo I got really concerned. A few people recommended I leave for the safety of the baby etc, so Motozo’s colleague accompanied me down to Osaka and set me up in a hotel. A friend joined me that evening and she flew out today back to Australia. On Sunday I’m catching a flight to Hong Kong. Motozo’s company is sending him to the HK branch until things settle down in Tokyo.  I will finally be reunited with him on Monday! I miss him so much!

We have no idea how long we will stay in HK, but I definitely don’t want to take a chance of going back until the radiation levels seem safer. I miss home and all the things I’ve left behind (CANON CAMERA!! BLENDER!), but I feel really lucky that I have the means to leave Japan, so I can’t complain.

It’s quite strange being in Osaka where life is resuming normal with no obvious effects of the recent happenings.

Lets hope the situation in Japan improves! I hope everyone is safe. Liene are you still in Tokyo?

I won’t be posting as much and it’ll probably just be scant updates on our whereabouts etc.

Big hugs and kisses to all!

7 thoughts on “Leaving Japan (temporarily)

  1. lil says:

    really glad you were able to leave tokyo, it’s a mad town now I imagine. And good that baby gets to stay safe from possible radiation. Things ar elooking pretty bleak from where we’re looking, interesting how the actual ppl in the situation seem more calm (parents) than us. I’m sooo worried about family right now after reading/listening to alot of different nuclear experts 😦

    But I guess it’s safer to just stay put at the moment for them. Hope you can settle down wherever you’re going. Wonder which country baby will be born in 😀

  2. Jan says:

    Yeah, Meg, I thought the same thing about the south. It really seems that everything is normal down here and stores are all packed to the max with stuff and everyone is living life normally as if nothing happened. I guess they don’t have TOO much to worry about (for now). Japan is probably going to change even more with all that is happening. I hope the government is still able to give us pregnant woman money to help cover costs of hospital bills, etc. 🙂 Please do continue to post Meg! Let us know when you’ll be heading back, what you’re up to, and how you and the baby are. 🙂 I love you soooo much!

  3. randomgoods says:

    I have to say it….no CANNON CAMERA!!!!!! SAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD!
    back to topic.
    I’m really glad you’ll be HK! and not Singapore (more chance of seeing you again) and super glad to be able to chat you up today.
    Don’t forget to post every so often to let us know you live 😉

  4. sherry says:

    its really nice knowing youll be safe in HK! lolz omg I bet your dieing without your blender,..meaning no smoothies in the morning?

  5. Liene says:

    Yes, I am still in Tokyo and staying!
    Things are back to normal here too.
    Have a safe flight and take care!

  6. Meg says:

    Yes, I’m dying without my blender! I was FINALLY able to have an organic smoothie today in HK. There’s an awesome vegan cafe near our hotel so I’ll be going there DAILY! yay!

  7. wherewander says:

    It´s good to hear that you are safe for now. Is it as bad as the news say? the radiation? It´s a real tragedy for Japanese people but for the rest of the world too … keep posting so we know that you are ok. Buy a cheap camera in the meantime and go out and take pictures. It´ll lift your spirits!!! lots of love your way!

Leave a Reply

