Picnic At Madera Canyon

Last week while we still had Bob and Myrna visiting we took a short trip to Madera Canyon. Just a short 30min drive away, so we packed a simple sandwich picnic and set out after breakfast.

It was a perfect day to go into the mountains. It gets pretty hot on some days, but the temperature was definitely cooler up in the mountains.

 

Getting closer.

We dropped off our lunch at a picnic table and did a short little walk. We studied different shrubs, listened to the birds chirping, and occasionally a trickle of water from a dry water fountain.

 

Fumiko gave me a lovely smile when I asked her to pose for me. Isn’t she cute?

Time for lunch. We slapped together these sandwiches at home. Inside we had hummus spread, spinach leaves, tomato, avocado, and veggie burger. They were very tasty if just slightly soggy from the trip.

We enjoyed our sandwiches with a side of carrots and  hummus and cut pineapple (not photographed).

And for dessert I found these vegan/gluten-free cookies at the near by supermarket. They were delicious and everyone enjoyed them!

One last look at the mountains before heading back home. Now why is it called Canyon when all I saw was mountains? Maybe we needed to hike farther to get to the canyon?

For dinner that evening we ordered some cheeseless pizza and a big salad on the side for me.

After all the carbs we felt a walk was in order. It was a beautiful night to be out for a walk! Well every night here is beautiful. The sky is so clear you can see countless stars! But unfortunately not in these photos.

That evening I was skyping with Motozo when suddenly the internet connection went down. I was so disappointed that we didn’t get a chance to say a proper good-bye, but Motozo was able to get a hold of me by phone and I didn’t end the evening too upset about the internet situation. Every night Motozo calls and we talk over Skype over the weekends and its the highlight of my day. There was just one night we couldn’t get a hold of each other and I was so upset I couldn’t fall asleep for a while. Oh, its hard being away from each other. Just one more week to go though till we see each other in NYC.

Tomorrow were heading to the Grand Canyon bright and early! Its a 6 hour drive from where we are, but I’m sure it’ll be worth it. We’ll spend one night at the base of the canyon so I better pack myself a little bag.

I’ll update when I get back in a day or two.

One thought on “Picnic At Madera Canyon

  1. wherewander says:

    what a beautiful place and delicious food!

Leave a Reply

