Certified Prenatal Yoga Instructor!

For the pass 2 weekends I traveled all the way to Osaka to study for a prenatal yoga certification.

We did LOTs of yoga this final weekend. Day 1 started with a prenatal yoga class, followed by a class lead by one of us for practice teaching. We each got to teach a 85min class and I sweated buckets when I taught mine (always will be nervous when teaching a new group), but I got some great feedback and learned a lot from the experience. The students commented that it was special that they could take a class from a pregnant women as they got a better idea of what and how much a pregnant women is actually capable of doing. Thats right, were still capable of doing quite a bit.

The 2nd day was more practice teaching, learned the contraindicated oils that shouldn’t be used if a teacher wanted to give a little massage, and we went over a little bit of postnatal yoga. Postnatal is not very different from a level 1 yoga class so that was very brief.

What I did not have to do was wear a pillow to simulate a belly and I was quite glad about this 🙂 I have my natural “pillow”, but that still didn’t stop me from bringing a pillow all the way from Tokyo so I could have more pillows in the hotel. No such thing as too many pillows at night!

And finally the graduation! Graduation flowers.

Boy do I look happy to get a flower! ha

Received my certificate and a hug from the lovely teacher. Jodi really was amazing! Such a warm heart and an excellent teacher! If she decides to teach a workshop in Tokyo I’d be so thrilled!

Tired, Sweaty, but oh so proud of our achievement!

Prenatal yoga is quite special I have to say and I’m SOOOOO excited that my boss is going to let me start teaching in 2 weeks up until whenever I have the baby. It’ll definitely be an experience to teach prenatal yoga while being pregnant myself.
Although I haven’t really enjoyed this pregnancy, I am quite happy that being pregnant brought about this opportunity to study prenatal yoga. I contemplated studying it before my pregnancy, but never did because I just couldn’t relate and ultimately didn’t have much interest until I got my pregnant myself. The body is a beautiful thing and its been an amazing experience to see/feel the changes in me and to see how much my yoga practice has changed as well. I don’t think I would consider myself a prenatal yoga teacher until I myself experienced pregnancy. Thats not to say I don’t think a women HAS to go through pregnancy to be a good teacher. Jodi Boone for example is not a mother, but understands the pregnant women’s body, mind, and heart that I wouldn’t have known she never experienced it herself if I didn’t ask her.
For myself, personally though, I think I needed to experience pregnancy to be able to teach pregnant women with confidence.

I’ll updated on my first prenatal yoga class in 2 weeks time  🙂

4 thoughts on “Certified Prenatal Yoga Instructor!

  1. Mia says:

    Biggest Congratulations! If I had a glass I`d raise it in toast. Really happy for you, and it`s a perfect time to get this now and experience it while your still pregnant. I`m so glad your boss is going to let you teach all the way till delivery.

  2. lil says:

    yay so good! Congratulations. You look so tiny compaed to the other women LOL
    Bring on the updates in the next weeks how you apply your learnings, it’s always so much fun to use it in real life!!

  3. Nina says:

    whoa so cool! See, being pregnant has it’s perks….lol.
    You do look tiny compared to those ladies, you sure you didn’t photoshop yourself? :p.
    Congrats on the certificate, it’s so cool to see you learning and growing and progressing 😀

  4. Hehe, I only look small because I’m sitting on my heels not my toes like everyone else in the front row is.

Leave a Reply

