Napping Troubles :(

Ty used to sleep lots during the day. I had to carry him for quite a bit of it, but he usually had 1 or 2 hours of being able to sleep by himself in his basket. But these days it’s getting increasingly difficult for him to go down for a daily nap whether I’m carrying him or not. Being that he’s getting older its natural that he’ll spend more hours of the day awake now, but I can tell when he starts getting tired – he rubs his eyes, yawns , and eyes start getting a little red.
Before it didn’t seem like such an issue that he didn’t nap so well during the day, but I’ve noticed that he’s becoming increasingly cranky during the day and his naps are more and more restless.

From what I read there’s a 30min window of putting a baby to sleep from when he starts showing the signs of being tired, so today I took great care to start winding down for a nap as soon as he start yawning etc. He started getting sleepy an hour after waking up in the morning and he went down fairly easily, but only slept for 30min and woke up still looking pretty tired. I tried the shuuu/pat method to see if he just needed to be soothed back to sleep, but he continued to cry and stopped as soon as I picked him up. I carried him around for a bit to see if he’ll fall back asleep, but he despite still looking tired, he wouldn’t fall asleep.

I decided to go out for a walk. I can’t stay cooped up in the house all day so after making sure Ty had a proper feed we took a stroll with the stroller.
He didn’t fall asleep immediately, but eventually he did fall asleep, but only for 20mins this time. I think he was a little warm and uncomfortable in his stroller, but he didn’t wake up fussing and seemed to just wake quite naturally.

I think Ty is a serious baby

He still seemed quite tired though. Continued yawning, rubbing his eyes etc. Long story short…I ended up spending the whole afternoon trying to get him down for an afternoon nap. He started getting really cranky around 2pm and I was at my wit’s end. I had a little melt down while chatting with Lilia on skype. Bless her! She made me laugh a little about the situation.
Ty definitely is happier with a lot of sleep, probably more so than other babies his age. Maybe it has to do with him being born premature?
Anyway, I tried lots of different ways to settle him. Pacifier, singing, rocking, patting, dark room, lighter room, but the only way he;d fall asleep is if I was carrying him and as soon as I put him down he wakes right up. ARGH! At this point I’ve established that he’s just so over tired that he’s having trouble staying asleep.

As soon as I took him out of his room he seemed a little less cranky. I guess he’s used to being in the living room during the day. He basically only sleeps in his crib at night, but he has to get used to napping in his crib during the day because his Moses basket is getting too small for him now.
Around 4pm Motozo and I figured he isn’t going to last until his usual 5pm bath time, so I started the night routine early.
He loves his bath! As soon as he’s in the water he starts smiling.

 

After his bath I tested to see how he’d take to a teething toy. Lilia suggested maybe he’s going through early teething as he also recently loves to bite/suck his hand. He was pretty interested and entertained with the toy for a bit, but started getting frustrated and bored with it. Ty ended up going down at 5pm, woke up 5mins after being put down and then FINALLY went down at his usual bed time at 7pm.
He only got around 1.5hr nap today and I can tell that he was SOO tired. Im worry about him!
I want him to be able to nap on his own without me having to carry him or push him around in a stroller, but I also don’t want to be stuck at home all day trying to get him down for a nap. It drove me crazy that I spent almost all day to get him to nap which resulted in even less nap time then usual. I figured its time I start a day time routine when it comes to winding down for a nap so Ty has an idea of whats coming next. I don’t think I can actually follow a strict schedule, but a nap routine I think I can manage.

I guess I shouldn’t whine too much because once Ty is down for the night I can count on a solid 5-6hrs of him being down, which allows me to enjoy a glass of wine and tonight, for the first time in a while, Motozo and I had dinner together without me having to nurse while eating. We chatted on the sofa for a bit and it just felt so nice to have the evening to relax.

Anyway, tomorrow is another day. Ty is hitting the 3 month mark so I’m counting on that miraculous change/settling that all moms talk about. I seriously can’t wait! Although he’s still quite tough to care for I’m trying to enjoy moments with him. I absolutely love when he’s all curled up sleeping on my shoulder and his cheek is all squishy and soft. I love his smell which basically is the smell of spit up, but its such a lovely smell non the less ha.

4 thoughts on “Napping Troubles :(

  1. lil says:

    I had many a meltdowns for that very reason. You know your baby is over tired, you just want him to sleep, yet they refuse! And then you end up stuck in the house all day :(, I’ve been talking to alot of moms who are into wearing baby, and they swear that they can get so much done and just bring their baby with them outdoors and they sleep when they are tired since they feel safe and secure, so it’s just a matter of making sure you hae nappies, boob cover, and off to the park you go! I was just thinking about it, and maybe ty needs sunlight in the eyes…though you did mention you took him for a walk, but sometimes that drastic brightness/darkness helps them get that sleep cycle going. You’re doin ga great job, sleep cues and routine sounds like a good idea.

    I should probably think of ones for amelie too! She tends to get a natural routine happening though over a few days, so you tend to respond better after knowing what the new cycle is. I think maybe he’s reching that new level of baby and it’s just a matter of adjusting 😀

    He’s soo cute and serious, I love serious babies.

  2. Mia says:

    I think its great starting an everyday schedule. Because you don`t know if Ty can actually adjust to a schedule or not, just don`t be too harsh on yourself or too strict… but follow through best you can. My kids are no babies but we still struggle to keep that schedule.
    I`m so sorry, sounds really tough… on top of it he looks really really heavy to bounce around. 🙂 But Wow! 5-6 hrs straight for night is just amazing! If it is teething, you can see in his mouth a red or swollen gum, usually the front teeth come in first. I had a thought, you started some new tea, tablets, I don`t think its likely but you never know, maybe one of them has an adrenaline affect on Ty and won`t let him sleep even though he wants too?

  3. Meg says:

    Yeah, on good nights he’s a pretty good sleeper. He usually only has one night feed but he’ll wake a couple times after that because of gas、that’s a good point about the new supplements I started. I thought of the possibility of him being affected somehow.

  4. Jan says:

    Sometimes when Brian is super tired but refuses to go to sleep, I just ‘wear’ him (by carrying him in a carry-on or just in my arms) and continue working. Sometimes when I TRY to put him to sleep he gets even more cranky because he knows what I’m trying to do and he just doesn’t want to sleep, but he’s tired.
    For Brian nursing usally does the trick, but those other difficult times I’ll take him on a long walk and he’ll sleep pretty well. Just leave him in the stroller once you get home too.
    Another thing, like you said, he could be cranky because he’s bored. If you’re in the house and in the living room all day long that’s gotta be tough. I can barely stay in my room for even just the morning. I’m always walking around with Brian, looking at other people work, or because we have a big garden, I’ll put him in the stroller and he’ll watch me do some gardening, etc. Maybe a change of scenery will be good for him. He’ll forget that you’re “trying” to put him to sleep, and hopefully, in his forgetful, distracted state, he’ll fall asleep on his own in his timing. Gambate ne.
    He’s really getting cuter. I like the bath time photo above. So sweet!

Leave a Reply

