Gas Issues

Ty has been having some major gas issues lately that has both Ty and I in tears. Him in pain and I in worry and frustration. Awwww, I thought his digestive system would calm down a bit, but it seems to be getting worse. He hates nursing because he associates it with pain, so I’m dealing with a gassy and hungry baby all day. Mothers please encourage me that’ll get better!

Although I love Ty to bits I can’t help feeling a little upset that other moms seem to have it easier and I’m wondering if there will ever be a point where I can truly enjoy motherhood.

His gas and fussiness is not his fault thought and at the end of the day I’m proud of my beautiful boy!

Perty eyed boy of mine!

Hanging out with mr. lion in Amelie’s old clothes. Moto and I love this “Mister Cool” one piece

Hello everyone!

He’s not a fan of tummy time even though that’s his prefered sleeping position.

Looking brrr cold after his bath.

Getting a little arm workout.

9 thoughts on “Gas Issues

  1. Mia says:

    Such cute pictures, I`m sorry it`s been tough. Do you give tummy massage after nursing? We would “pump” or “bicycle” Natie`s legs (for about 3 to 5 mins) and that seemed to help relieve the pain. You mentioned he gulps down like crazy when he starts nursing yeah? Course, you can`t really do this outside but when you`re home, is there any way you could get the let-down going and actually empty your breast some before you start nursing?
    It definitely gets easier with time. Must be so hard seeing him in pain everyday. His digestive system will come around, just gotta keep doing what you`re doing till it does.

  2. artsyductlil says:

    he does have such perty eyes! Like a little flirt, i love him in grey! And amelies old clothes suit him well, can’t believe he fits in them already! I think amelie was wearing at 5-6 months and could still wear at 7 months easily. SOO cute in the towel, all wrapped up.so smooshy! Want to kiss his little fat rolls!!

  3. artsyductlil says:

    Oh and yes, I said on skype, but it does definetely get eaiser, it’s like there’s a magical date at 3months (he’s premie so count as if he went full term 40 and then 3 months), Even Amelie took a few weeks after 3 month mark, so I chalked it up to her being born at 38 weeks haha. You’re a wonderful mommy, it gets better..then it starts getting weird when they don’t eat at all!! (Amelie eats only blueberries these days GAH) and just pecks at her food, then shes done. Read that they dont need much food since they stop growing fast, but shes already really skinny!! Its horrible not knowing if your kid is getting enough sustinence , but I know ty is! Hes a chunky monkey and can go for longer periods now without boob, remember…DO NOT go by scales! It’ll make you stressed and its not a healthy way to judge his food intake. (just making sure you remember since you have a nice scale LOL)

  4. randomgoods says:

    Aww poor Ty, coping with gas pains, those can be really nasty.
    I really like the first picture, he looks so cute!

  5. Mia says:

    Omg, you don`t know how reassuring it is to know my kids aren`t the only ones who eat like birds.

  6. Meg says:

    Yes, I do some tummy massage and bicycle his legs, which works, but there always seems to be 1-2 air bubbles that refuse to come out.
    When I feel like my like letdown is going to be strong then I unlatch him until the milk stops shooting and turns more into a drip.
    Today he only wanted to nurse laying down side by side. If I put him on my lap to nurse he freaks out and doesnt latch 😦 But at least he didn’t go hours and hours between feeds.

  7. Meg says:

    Thanks Lils!
    It was great skyping as usual. Made me feel a whole lot better!

  8. Jan says:

    Have you tried researching on gas pains, your diet, etc, online? Maybe you’re earting something with lots of fiber that Ty can’t cope with. We always seem to have a continual flow of broccali and cabbage from our farmer neighbors, and it never seemed to bother me, but once Brian was 2 months old he started having bad gas pains for a week, till I guessed that it was from those veggies high in fiber. I stopped eatting those and THAT day it stopped.
    Check out your supplements too just to see if there’s anying that could be causing his gas issues.

    Gambate Meg. Ty is really a treasure! All the work and stress you’re going through is worth it for him because he’s YOUR own baby! -Not your mom’s, your brother’s or your sister’s.

  9. Yes, Jan, I’ve done HEAPS of research on gas pains and diet. It seems that diet isn’t really the cause for gas and more to do with a baby’s digestive system still immature…although, yes some babies are sensitive to what their moms eat. I used to think it was broccoli, but when I cut that out it didn’t change anything. Then I thought it was coffee, no change. There were a few days where I didn’t have my green smoothie in the morning and no change still. But for good measures from today I’m eliminating soy from my diet as thats a big allergen and I consume it on a daily basis. We’ll see how it goes. If its not soy then I’ll see about the veggies.
    Thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

