Ty’s Introduction To Solids

First up, Ty’s 6 month measurements as of his check up yesterday.

Weight: 7.3kg
Height:65.4cm
Head Circumference: 41.6

The doctor deemed his height and weight as perfect(Im sure the “perfect” range is pretty large though). Ty was checked out to be a very healthy and strong boy. We were assigned to see a nutritionist and she gave us the whole obvious advice on how to start solids.
Start with Okayu (rice porridge), tiny bit at first etc. What was interesting though was that they recommend staying with one food for one week before introducing other foods. Rice the first week and veggies the 2nd. From what I’ve read its something like waiting 4 days or so before introducing new foods.
Anyhoo…..introducing Ty to solids was something I’ve been anticipating and also a little sad about. Eating solids means my little baby is growing up…..WAHHHHHH NOOOOO! I never thought I’d actually want to slow the time down, but I am wishing I could just nurse him for a bit longer. But once I remind myself that solids really are just an introduction for the first few months and breastmilk is still the main source of food for the first year of life, then I relax.

And I got excited. Pulled out his bowls and spoons and had a little photoshoot. Baby things are just so cute! I want to get him a nice wooden bowl and spoon set.

An icepack for his bowl….something I’ll probably never use, but never the less, absolutely adorable!

I got a little carried away.

The plan was to give him a taste of avocado after his check up, but we ended up spending close to 3hrs in the hospital and we were too tired when we got back home. Its so hard to find the right time with Ty! He’s either fussy, tired, gassy, or hungry. Neither of which are good times for introducing solids.
But sometime in the afternoon yesterday I decided it was a good time.

Mashed up nice and good.

Drum Roll!!!!! His first taste of avocado I’d say wasn’t exactly “mmmmm YUM!” He was rather perplexed.

And the tongue thrust reflex kicked in. But no worries, this is after all just an introduction. I didn’t expect a lot of food to actually stay in his mouth.

Daddy’s turn. Ty’s like, “I’m not too sure about that stuff.” haha

But he actually ended up grabbing daddy’s hand and opening his mouth.

Looking pretty promising.

Those eye brows don’t make it look like he enjoyed it all that much haha.

And then he got a little fussy and that was the end. In total, he probably ate less than 1 teaspoon so I wonder if his poo will change any. We’ll see we’ll see.

A couple minutes after he had the avocado I realized he felt unusually warm. I checked his temp and it turns out my poor little man has a fever! 😦
If it wasn’t for his temperature I’d never think he had a fever because he’s been over all his usual self. Although, come to think of it, he did nap for over an hour in the morning which is very unusual for him.
A day of 2 firsts for him. First solid and first fever.Β  Poor little man!

12 thoughts on “Ty’s Introduction To Solids

  1. Motozo says:

    Ty’s confused face when we offered him the green stuff was priceless…

  2. Jan says:

    Aw, the poor little man. Hope he gets better soon and that he’ll be overall happy during the time that he’s sick.
    Such cute photos.
    I need to see how tall and how heavy Boobins is. Will post soon. πŸ™‚

  3. Liene says:

    Poor Ty! I am sure he will get well soon!
    First time solids are never easy, and one spoon is great for the first time!
    Great pictures!

  4. artsyduct says:

    awww poor little baby. I love that one with him getting measured, he’s like lalala, let me grab your stuff lady LOL. Hilarious how you get carried away with the bowls Lol!! And oh my, how cute the initial reaction! soooo cute and poor thing, his eyes look like amelies when she had a high fever and roseola, like all pinkish. Hope he gets well soon! Did he get his needles done at the check up? cuz that might be why he has a temperature?

    soo funny see him with his first food!!

  5. mama says:

    γγ‚ƒγƒΌγ‹γ‚γ„γ„οΌοΌγ‚’γƒœγ‚¬γƒ‰γ‚’ι£ŸγΉγ¦γ„γ‚‹ε†™ηœŸγ€‚γ§γ‚‚η†±γŒγ‚γ£γŸγͺγ‚“γ¦γ‹γ‚γ„γγ†γ«γ€‚γ‚γγƒγƒ£γƒ³γ‚‚γŠγ‹γ‚γ•γ‚“γ γ­γƒΌγ€‚γƒ–γƒ­γ‚°γ‚’θͺ­γ‚“で母θ¦ͺだγͺγƒΌοΌοΌγ¦γ‹γ‚“γ˜γΎγ—γŸγ‚ˆγ€‚

  6. Merch says:

    So cute. And I’m dying to get one of those chairs!!!

  7. randomgoods says:

    So cute when he’s all perplexed, his eyebrows just sag down. I love how you go snap happy with the bows, they’re really cute with the color codes and everything. Really fancy with the ice cooler.

  8. Mia says:

    hahaha, his reaction is sooo good. One spoonful is pretty good. They say to wait in between different foods to see for allergic reactions, but studies have shown allergies tend to run in families so if parents haven`t any and grandparents haven`t it`s not much of a problem…usually. Of course, there can be the odd occasions so it doesn`t hurt to take precautions.
    Gabe just popped in the room, says Ty looks VERY Japanese and more like Moto…I said, At least half… but he still claims full Japanese. Meh, Gabe is full alien here so he can`t tell, heh.
    That mini icepack is adorable! I`ve never seen something like that.

  9. He ha less than a teaspoon. Probably about a quarter of a teaspoon. Solids so far isn’t going so good. Tried okayu today and as soon as I brought the spoon to his mouth he shut it and started fussing.

    Yeah, Ty def looks a little asian. But I think more half then than full ha.

  10. eh, mama desuyo. Taihendesu haha.

  11. Yeah, I like how he’s grabbing for the nurses stuff too haha.
    No, he didn’t get any vaccination at the hospital. He had one scheduled for today, but I put it off until tomorrow because his cold is just not getting better. grrr, I love winter, but its hard with a baby.

  12. Yeah, Jan. I want to know Brian’s measurements.

Leave a Reply

