Random Things

You know the whole “pregnancy brain” thing? I still suffer from it, but I guess now it would be called “Sleep deprived mama brain”. It’s seriously worse than ever these days! I can’t remember things for the life of me. Lists are the only way I’ll remember to get important things done.
I’ve also apparently forgotten how to read. It took me 3 whole days to realize the Happy Fathers Day card I got for Motozo actually read Happy Birthday! ย Ha. At this rate I’m going, I’ll be brainless in no time!

These days I’ve been trying to give Ty smoothies during breakfast. It’ll be nice if he likes and gets used to what I eat on a regular basis and I thought a fun cup would win him over.

On the side was a rice cake with purred dried fruit and flaxseed on top. He wasn’t so into this. He likes the fruit puree a bit, but in general he doesn’t eat much in the morning so it’s usually only 1-2 bites of whatever I give him. I thought he would be into the cracker since he loves crackers, but so far he’s just not a breakfast person.

He loved the straw cup,but for the smoothie after his 4th sip he wouldn’t have any more. He made a “disgusting” face after his first sip so I was quite surprised he went back for a couple more sips. Later during the day I went to a cafe and ordered freshly squeezed veg/fruit juice and offered him a sip. He looked at the juice from the clear glass and refused it ha. When I offered him water he studied the glass to make sure it wasn’t juice and then drank. It’s too bad he’s not into juices ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
But its only recently that I’ve introduced something other than water to him so he just might need some time.

This is the only way I can get things done in the kitchen. He loves pulling out all the bowls and banging them on the floor. I’ve also started wearing him on my back in the Ergo and he tolerates it for a bit. He wants to see what I’m doing though so he gets fed up eventually when he’s behind.

Looks are so deceiving in this photo. He looks like he’s eating loads, but really the food just gets everywhere and only 1-2 bites manage to get into his mouth. At least he had fun.

I love seeing him pick out his favorite food. On this day it was beets! He’ll put the whole chunk in his mouth and of course, it takes forever for him to swallow it. Its super hard getting his food texture soft enough so that he can mush it in his mouth and swallow, but not too soft that he’ll refuse it. He definitely likes drier/harder food than wet/soft.

As usual he loves his crackers!

We’ve been enjoying near by baby centers and its perfect now that it’s getting warmer and with rainy season. I try to arrive there a bit before his lunch time so he can play and then lunch before his 2nd nap. This particular center has daycare services as well and one of these days I want to try it out. Everyone who works there are super nice and I’ve talked to a couple of mums who use the daycare and say its good. It’s also super cheap so that’s a nice bonus. Now that he can crawl around he gets a lot more out of these places and the new toys keep him occupied for quite a long time.

3 thoughts on “Random Things

  1. Mia says:

    OMG, holding the straw…soooo cute!
    I don`t think pregnancy brain goes away. I actually have a theory it only gets worse with each kid. I did notice that coffee helps me there so I swapped out my tea for coffee in the morning.
    Ty`s becoming such a busy bug. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Ha, I drink coffe daily and it’s not doing me much to help with my memory. At least it gives me energy for half the day though ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. lil says:

    lol I laughed so much with the card LOL you goose. btw it is dads birthday tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ I think baby brain does last forever! I’m so spacy and always forget things now, but you get this non caring feeling too which is good so at least it doesnt stress you out as much..I think anyway.

    Oh my he is way too cute, I want to keep him, even if he is a picky eater lol. He can join my picky eater and they can just eat rice crackers all day!! I have an only rice eater these days, oh and fried potatoes..soo bad! Sometimes she likes to eat brocoli but otherwise very finicky.

    You go through great lengths to get him to try different stuff, it works over time! They just have to keep getting offered different things and eventually he’ll think its normal to just eat/drink.
    Would be nice to have a daycare/drop off option, I’m beginning to feel hopless in that arena as she’s far too clingy now. Its good to start them young I hear. Hes getting adventurous eh? Good little man!

Leave a Reply

