We Made It To San Francisco!

I don’t know how often I’ll manage to blog, but since this is an extra long holiday (over 3 weeks) it’ll be better for me to blog a bit while everything is still fresh.

We weren’t even sure if we should go on this trip after Ty came down with a fever at the end of last week. He ended up getting a cough and sounded more and more congested each night. So on Mon I took him to the Dr. to make sure he didn’t have an earache or anything and possibly give us something for his cough. He prescribed some cough meds for Ty and said to expect his cough to be worse after the flight and suggested we see a Dr when we arrive if were concerned. But he had no fever so we risked it and went.

Mon night I tried to download as many free toddler ipad apps that looked interesting. To be honest, I didn’t think it would keep Ty occupied for more than 5mins as Ty doesn’t take much interest in even watching TV, but I wanted to have something for back up.

Mon night Ty’s breathing was pretty loud and all I could think about was him having pneumonia. I ended up staying awake for hours worry myself silly about our trip. In the morning I wasn’t in such a good mood. I discussed again the cons of us going to Motozo as I have been for the pass 3 days leading up to our trip. I just really don’t want to regret anything later.

Sleepy grumpy me.

Well, we went, as the post title clearly states. To make add even more stress to our trip was Ty’s restlessness in the morning. I think he’s super sensitive to my emotions and could feel something was going to happen.
The ride to the airport was smooth with Ty making up for his lack of napping, by sleeping the entire bus ride. And once we checked in, had our last Tokyo sushi (natto maki for Ty and I), and went through customs, we let Ty play around at the play area. Was hoping he’d get his last bit of energy out so he’d zonk out on the plane. He was more interested in watching the other kids screaming and playing with their daddy. Then he discovered one little girl’s doll sticking out of her bag and he kept trying to get it. He did go down the slide a couple of times which he absolutely loved. I think he was already really tired with only 1 nap that he didn’t have much energy to play.

I was hoping Ty would sleep for most of the flight with it being an overnight flight and all. When we went to Hawaii when he was 5 months it also was an overnight flight and he slept pretty much the whole way there, but he’s older and more aware of his surroundings now so it was a little more difficult getting him settled this time around . He fussed for a bit, but he finally managed to fall asleep during take off and when he woke up an hr later he was in a good mood and didn’t seem to have any discomfort from the air pressure. He refused to eat anything (which is happening pretty often these days after he got sick), but had fun playing with my spoon and fork. There were some rough spots during the flight when I wanted a break, but he’d freak out if daddy carried him so it was pretty tiring for me. I had to pretty much carry him either on my lap or around the plane the whole time, but at least I was able to ask Motozo to get me things out of our bags if i needed anything and he was very helpful. Ty slept for the 2nd time on the plane for about 2-3hrs and then after that it was pretty hard getting him back to sleep again. We were happy to have the front row seats (as requested), but there was this huge TV right above/infront of us that was pretty stimulating for Ty. There was also a young boy on the other row next to us and he was having a hard time falling  asleep as well so when he’d fuss it would wake Ty up if he was just about to drift off and visa versa. They ended up playing with each other near the end of the flight though trading toys with each other which Ty enjoyed alot.
Ty finally gave us another break for 2 more hrs and woke up about 45mins to landing. And again he didn’t seem to have any discomfort with his ears or anything. But throughout the whole flight his cough did get worse and his nose started running. Poor thing! I offered him the boob and sippy cup for water throughout the whole flight so hopefully he got enough fluids.

He def was pretty tired when we arrived as he was fussy and didn’t want to ride in the stroller for long. Thankfully, customs was a breeze and the taxi ride into the city was super fast.
San Francisco is COLD! Well, considering how Tokyo is right now. It’s really lovely for me, but I do worry a bit about Ty with the change of temperature. As soon as we arrived in our little boutique hotel we turned on the heater. Ty examined the ceiling fan.

I was surprisingly feeling pretty energetic and felt like going for a run, but I knew Ty needed a little nap and Motozo and I didn’t sleep at all during the flight (it arrives 1AM Tokyo time), so I put my alarm on for 1.5hrs and we all took a snooze. That is until Ty decided to wake up crying hysterically an hour into our nap and it took him a super long time to settle. His nose was starting to get a little congested and the heater was on a little too hot, so I adjusted the temp and put my alarm back on for another 2 hours. But Ty again woke up screaming an hour later and I thought it best we all get up anyway. So I woke up my other boy and persuaded him that we needed to get into fresh air, sunshine, and grab some coffee or we will end up sleeping all day and jetlag will be a lot worse later.

I wanted to walk to the downtown area Union Square, so with coffees in hand, we walked down the chilly, windy, but beautiful streets. We found ourselves at China Town where Ty decided he had enough of sight seeing.

Poor boy just wanted to nurse and sleep. Dont worry I rescued him after this shot.

We roamed around for a bit and Ty fell asleep not long after this photo.

Sorry for the excessive iphone photos. Its just easier to pull out my phone rather than the DSLR and and whenever I do pull it out it seems I’ve forgotten to take good photos with it. Hopefully, I’ll get back into the habit of using the good cam more during this trip.

The major hilly streets. I LOVE IT!

We really didn’t have much appetite, but decided we should probably get a bite since the last time we ate was 8 hrs ago. I craved veggies, so I got a big salad with a small cup of blackbean chili. The chili was delicious, especially with the cool temps here.
I really wanted to love this salad, but the raspberry vinaigrette dressing was a little off and it made the salad a little disappointing. Still, I ate most of. Motozo ordered a vegetarian sandwich and could only finish half with lack of appetite, but the doggy bagged the rest up for Ty for whenever he woke.

On our way back to our hotel we tried to get a manicure as its been forever since I’ve had my nails done and its super cheap here (compared to Tokyo). But Ty woke up as soon as we found a place that could take us without reservations and I knew Ty would make a huge fuss and my nails would get all screwed up as soon as I finished them, so we abandoned the idea and just picked up some supplies for our hotel.

I still had a little energy to exercise, so I had Motozo take over and I snuck away to the hotel gym to do a short running workout. When I want to do a fast, but efficent workout on the treadmill I’ll do intervals. The easiest one that I enjoy is 3 mins slower paced running, followed by 2 mins of hard running. I repeated that for 6 rounds for a total of 30mins and was completely pooped and sweaty by the end. Felt great to squeeze in a little workout though.
My little fella gave dad a hard time, but Motozo brought him to the gym just as I finished my workout so it worked out well.

Ty is snoozing now and i hope it continues to for the rest of the night. We will see how it goes. Tomorrow we have more sight seeing plans.

Until then……

3 thoughts on “We Made It To San Francisco!

  1. lil says:

    Oh sooo awesome! How amazing u managed a run! Crazy running ppl. Motozo is very accommodating, if I dared ask Max a hint of nailwork he’d flatly refuse! SF looks really interesting I’m looking forward to the pics u can manage to take, u know how difficult it is to carry the big can much less use it. Ty looks so fat!!! Lol he’s so cute, sounds rough but hopefully he can heal and feel better soon and give u a restful holiday! Love the pic of him looking at the fun..sleep well!

  2. Mia says:

    That`s great you`re jumping right in holiday mode, even though Ty isn`t quite there yet. I hope he`s better by now.
    Looking forward to more photos. Do you feel more Japanese there or fit right along with Americans?

  3. Meg says:

    Were all over jet lag now so its good. I think I fit in pretty well with the Americans. I think i’m a little quieter than the average American (I hate to label them as loud), but its really nice to make small talk with strangers where in Japan there isn’t much of that.
    I haven’t been able to blog for awhile because of lousy internet, but hopefully I’ll be able to at least put up more photos before our trip ends.

Leave a Reply

